Japan Travel – Hachinohe to Hakodate to Sapporo

7 Apr

Why it’s taken me so many years to travel up to Hokkaido I do not know. Why it took a rock band (Oasis) to get me up there is something else to ponder entirely, however, now that I’ve visited, I will definitely be heading back there ! Getting there via the JR Pass was simple. I left Tokyo Station on a bullet train around 7 in the morning, bound for Hachinohe in Aomori Prefecture. From there I changed trains bound for Hakodate in Hokkaido (Funnily enough on the day I travelled (Saturday) there was an issue with the trains and another change over was included at Aomori Station. Hakodate looked very interesting (it was damn freezing when I exited the Station) with a tram system to get around town. Mount Hakodate will also be on my list of places to visit as well. The scenery north of Sendai starts to change as you rocket along – and it is stunning. The train journey from Hakodate to Sapporo is one of the most scenic stretches of railway on the planet and much like other. Go visit.
Leave a Reply

